Weekend Update – days 12-13 – Be Mine, Valentine!

I find the easiest way to be glamorous is in my interior décor and party planning skills. You may think that aa a person with a bachelor’s degree in interior design and ample experience creating beautiful interiors, I would also be well versed in putting together clothing ensembles. Sooooo not the case for me. My personal wardrobe is usually the last thought in my brain’s list of projects and design ideas. Luckily, in an effort to be more glamorous this year, I can showcase (on occasion) my very skillful and glamorous abilities in the world of interior design!

Today, I will talk about the very bitter sweet birthday party that I threw for my sweet, Sweet, SWEET baby girl! She was perfect and beautiful the day she was born, and watching her grow and learn new things over the past 12 months has been the most amazing and rewarding experience of my life. I would probably been wallowing in my sadness much more if I didn’t already have baby #2 on the way to take care of my teeny tiny baby cravings. Luckily, I get to experience the best of both worlds as goofy, energetic Tylyn grows into an amazing and smart big sister, and I get to have an infant again! Tylyn was born February 12, 2012, and we got to take her home from the hospital on Valentine’s day, so it seemed only fitting that for her first birthday, I would throw her the ultimate Valentine’s Day Bash!

IMG_9060

Isn’t she the most glamorous baby you have ever seen!? I bought her the sweet ruffle romper for only $8 online!

Now, before getting into all of the fun décor and details that went into the party, I must say the truly awesome part was having all of our friends and family there to celebrate with us! I always feel especially blessed when I see my parents (and siblings, nieces and nephews) and in laws socializing together, it makes our family feel truly complete! My littlest sister-in- law Lexi and my niece Mara Jade get along great whenever they see each other, which is only once or twice a year. And my exuberant brother-in-law Jared always gets the conversation started between families. I am also so blessed to have such wonderful friends, and their beautiful babies that get to grow up along side of my baby girl! What a fun extended family and loving support for Tylyn to witness as she grows up!

A month before this party, I sent out an email to all our family to see if they might be up to forgoing a birthday party for a fun and relaxed trip to the coast. In all honesty, it would have probably saved me a lot of time and even a pocket full of change, but the timing wasn’t quite right for everyone to make a short trip over to the beach.

Alas, I kicked into party planning mode and didn’t stop until every last detail was accounted for. My husband would say I put in 75 hours, but it doesn’t feel like I did because I enjoyed all my little projects. And it didn’t stress me out at all until the last hour and a half before everyone arrived and my pregnancy hormones kicked in a little. Sorry Mom and Tyson.

The table was set for 9 little munchkins complete with Valentine mailboxes, treats and sweets, tutu’s and ties, milkshakes and more!

20130211-132051.jpg 20130211-132018.jpg

20130211-132455.jpg

Drinks included Bottled waters with personalized labels, Strawberry milkshakes poured into short champagne glasses, complete with striped paper straws and heart shaped cookies on top

20130211-132357.jpg 20130211-132435.jpg

20130211-132005.jpg 20130211-132216.jpg

20130211-132422.jpg

No kids party is complete without a table of candy for them to go bananas at. My 8 year old nephew Mace couldn’t believe how much Candy there was and kept exclaiming, “I have never seen so much sugar in one place!” Aside from wearing his tie, he sat at the kids table the entire time, shoveling candy, cake and milkshake into his mouth!
20130211-132131.jpg

I saw this awesome idea for adding bible verse references to bags of sweethearts. So I printed off my own labels and glued them onto the boxes of conversation hearts. No one may have noticed this detail except for me, but it was my favorite thing at the party.
20130211-131952.jpg

I made mini gluten free heart shaped cupcakes to go with the God’s sweetheart idea, and finished everything short of adding the messages onto them with frosting. Honestly, I think I would have messed them up big time if I attempted to free hand “Be Mine” in frosting.
20130211-132336.jpg 20130211-132100.jpg
My wonderful baker sister, Melanie, agreed to make an adorable cake and I am so impressed with how it turned out! It tasted GOOOOODDDD too! I don’t know how she does it with 4 kids.

Since moustaches are all the rage right now, I decided to take advantage of it and add some lips into the mix. I saw a great printable for Mustaches and Muah’s and tied them onto homemade candy molds. Et Voila!
20130211-131940.jpg

Being that my husband plays minor league baseball, and we spent Tylyn’s first few months of life driving across the United States watching close to 100 baseball games. It only seemed fitting that we documented her monthly growth in Daddy’s catcher’s mitt. I then plotted a giant poster to display along with some other precious pics on the hall table.

20130211-132539.jpg 20130211-132323.jpg

I also made these “You’re a Hit “ Valentine Baseballs for the kiddo’s alluding to the baseball life.

20130211-132309.jpg

I wanted to do photo booth esque pictures of all the little kids outside in this mock hot air balloon, but Tylyn refused to be set into the basket, most others cried while inside, and only Sweet Brooklynn was happy to pose for the camera. Some ideas are better left to the imagination.
20130211-131927.jpg 20130211-132114.jpg

There is too much to say about everything, so I am going to let the rest of the pictures speak for themselves.
Needless to say I put a lot of work into this party, and I don’t think I will do birthdays this big again for a while, but I was so pleased that all the little kids seemed to have a great time! It was a party designed for kids, so if they were happy then I am happy!

Also, I think this weekend I should get an A+ for being so very, very glamorous. My outfit didn’t look too bad either.

-Lexie

20130211-132034.jpg 20130211-132409.jpg

20130211-132142.jpg

20130211-132201.jpg 20130211-132225.jpg

20130211-132513.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

