Spring Break Update

This week has been my spring break – a wonderful relaxing week to rejuvenate so I can finish the rest of the school year happily… NOT! This week has been non stop stressful. Let us recap:

The story really starts about 2 weeks ago, when my husband went to a conference in Rhode Island and everything imaginable went wrong. My car tire was slashed, then my mother and sister got into a hit and run accident while driving my afore mentioned car. Which put us into a stressful debacle of should we fix the car, take the insurance money, sell the car… and on and on it went. We decided to fix the most necessary things, and then this past Monday listed the cute little red truck that I got in high school on craigslist. And a mere 5 hours later, it was SOLD!

Suddenly we were without a car. I mean, we listed it, we wanted to sell it, but we were thinking it would take AT LEAST a week. So, Tuesday morning began our new, used car hunt. Tuesday was a fail. No good cars. Wednesday morning I had to start a painting project at a clients house, and we resumed our car search Wednesday afternoon. Another fail. Luckily Thursday early morning, we found a car! We basically were able to trade up, from our 2000 Nissan Frontier 4 door truck with 165,000 miles to a 2002 Nissan Xterra with 119,000 miles, and for the same price I might add! Good thing we found the car, because the stress of not having a car was starting to make me crazy. Then this morning, Friday, I finished up my painting project and came home for a nice snooze while my husband put some labor into cleaning out our new-used car.

Being that I am now 7 months pregnant, I can not believe the projects that I allow myself to take on. But since we do not currently have a house of our own, and my nesting instincts are kicking in rather strong, I just can’t resist a good interior design project! It turned out rather nice I must say!

20130405-180820.jpg

My client loves bright colors and I believe said this one looked like a Tijuana Sunrise. I must admit that if you have to do laundry you might as well do it in a bright and cheery room.

20130405-181029.jpg

This powder room truly went from drab to fab. The teal paint was glammed up with faux molding (white sparkle paint). Don’t under estimate the power of paint!

20130405-181151.jpg

Taking cue from the golden granite and honey colored wood cabinetry in the kitchen, we striped the wall along the breakfast nook and into the family room with a butternut and metallic gold. It sounds as delicious as it looks.

Although the week was busy and stressful it is always a relief when it comes to an end and you can see the awesome results of all your hard work. Hopefully April with be a little slower and more relaxed so that I can be stress free as we anticipate the arrival of Baby Hadley!

Another glamorous week in the world of interior design!

-Lexie

2 thoughts on “Spring Break Update

  1. Ok how did I not know you had a blog?!?!? And now after reading how busy you are and how hard it is on you I feel bad for having you come paint at my house!!!

    • Haha. It’s not a blog I publicize. And I’m not crazy busy or anything those are just the things I write about! Lol! It’s supposed to be a sarcastic funny blog which is why I don’t go around promoting it!

Leave a Reply

