2 Little Girls, 1 Bedroom.

A couple months ago, before Jacson was born, I decided it was time to move Tylyn and Hadley back into the same bedroom. Hadley’s room was the slightly bigger room, so I opted to move Tylyn from her room, in order to turn the smaller room into Jacson’s nursery (that will be a separate post).

Tylyn was very, VERY resistant to my plan. Her biggest areas of discontent over moving rooms were 1. the pink walls in her room, and 2. having her own closet. She really, really likes her closet. To move past these issues, or at least skirt around them, I started by first painting over Tylyn’s pink walls with white paint. This way she could no longer use them against me. Second, I let her keep her “OWN” closet. Tylyn still has her clothes, toys, and giant barbie house in the closet in Jacson’s room.

Now, as I said in my last post, every good design needs to start with A PLAN! So I went to work to create one. I had already set my sights on some upholstered twin headboards. And figured I could make them myself on my nickle budget. We were starting from scratch with this room because we were moving from a crib and toddler bed to two twin beds! Meaning, we didn’t have two twin beds or mattresses! Not to mention my budget was around $0. I will explain how I got my end look while essentially spending $0 as I go. But back to my plan…

tylyn haddy room

Here was my first plan. The color scheme was to be pink, purple and blue as those were the requested colors. And as I said, two twin beds, two headboards (the ones shown are from overstock.com), a pink ombre dresser from landofnod.com, tulip bedding from landofnod.com, mirror, lamp, gummy bear night light, and pink ottomans also from Land of Nod. Lastly, some pink heart wall decals to jazz up the existing grey accent wall. The ruffle curtain and zebra rug I already had, both from overstock.com. Some things changed as I went, like the blue headboards ended up being purple (kids with their “favorite color” changing by the week), and the bedding changed too.

Here is the plan I ended up moving forward with:

tylyn haddy room 2

Like all rooms, the girls room is still a work in progress. I LOVE the pink ottoman and bunny mirror, but need to save up before I add them to the room.

august 2014 007

This is such a horrible picture but the only thing I have that is remotely close to showing my process of making the headboards. So, it will have to suffice. Or you will just have to use your imagination to envision how I made these headboards.

First, I have had a box of large foam core boards in our garage for a couple years. Slowly I have used the boards for various projects. And I figured the were the perfect size for twin headboards, so why not use them instead of going and buying heavy plywood. The foam core became the backing. I then put thick foam (again, something we bought years ago and have yet to use all the pieces) on top of the foam core board, wrapped it in batting and lastly purple fabric from http://www.fabric.com. My staple gun did indeed work on the foam core back to attach the fabric, as I thought the staples might pull out. Lastly I found some pearly beads to poke through the fabric and foam to make tufts. The result was a pair of super lite weight headboards that are cute and stylish without spending much money. They may not last for years and years. But I am okay with that because I am sure I will want to redecorate again someday, and hopefully will have more money to spend the next time round.

august 2014 167

Now about the dresser. My inspiration piece was from Land of Nod, and was way out of my price range. But I have seen several successful Ikea hacks using the $34.99 Rast dresser and figured I would try one. A good thing to note about the Rast dresser, it is much much smaller in person than I ever realized. This turned out to be fine for my project because it acts more like a night stand than a dresser anyway, but it’s really not very great for clothes storage.

For painting the dresser I went with what was in the garage: a can of white paint and a small can of red paint. I first painted the sides and top with the white paint and then I mixed the red and white together to first get the darkest pink color and painted the bottom drawer. Next I added a little more white to the dark pink to get the middle drawer color. And finally I added more white to the medium pink to get the lightest pink color. Money spent on paint $0. Oh and dresser paid for with an Ikea gift card. You might also notice a purple lamp base that I found for $1 at goodwill. I have still yet to get  a lamp shade for it. These things just take time my friends! HAHA!

As for the pink heart decals. I figured out that I needed about 50 hearts, and to buy the decals I would be looking at around $50. So, I asked some friends and found one that had a dye cut machine I could borrow. I bought a roll of pink, peel and stick vinyl from Michael’s for $3 and made my own hearts. The only hard part here was measuring and spacing out each heart so that the pattern looked right on the wall.

Cricut® Vinyl Sampler Pack, Metallics

Cricut Vinyl sold at local craft stores.

Back to my Budget:

The biggest ticket items in my room were the beds and bedding. I didn’t want to spend a lot of money to get matching sheets, comforters, duvets, bed skirts… but I obviously have taste that reaches beyond my price point. So, I did a couple things to get what I wanted. As usual, I sold things to save money for what I wanted, including a toddler bed, dresser, crib bedding, etc. Hadley’s birthday also happened to overlap with my redecorating, so we were given the matching sheet sets. And I also shamelessly added the duvets to my land of nod baby registry so that I could get 15% off and free shipping when I bought them from the money I saved up. The twin mattresses and box springs were actually found for free on craigslist. Gasp! But we found the best ones that they had, from nice neighborhoods. I also felt a twin mattresses was a safer size mattress to get used (think of that as you may). Add some thick mattress pads on top and I don’t have an issue!

before jacson 017

Tylyn has decided she loves her new bed and her new room. And Hadley is pretty happy as well. Then again she loves everything her sister loves. Now, getting the girls to go to bed, together, at a reasonable time… that is another story!

Leave a Reply

